Topic 5: Lessons learnt – future practice

The Open Networked Learning-course, or the ONL, has given me a second possibility to engage in a PBL-teaching format as a student. The first time I engaged in PBL was 25 years ago, in the nursing programme at Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm. Between these educational experiences, I wrote a doctoral thesis concerning integrated teaching that I completed in June 2020. In my thesis I investigated various formats for integration, including PBL. This time in ONL, I was familiar with the structure, and I was careful to read the recommended literature before each topic started. The recommended literature gave me a preunderstanding of the topic, the possibility to focus the discussions to the topic and to certain areas in which I needed further knowledge. However, 15 years ago there was no recommended literature, i.e. no preparation, and instead we were presented with a topic during the very first session – surprise!

What I have learned from both experiences is the value of the collective. Group members have been valuable resources for teaching and learning, as we have learned from each other and learned together. The individual contribution has been important for group work, and all final presentations of the topics have indeed been the result of group effort and collaboration. Further, ONL has afforded an inclusive kind of teaching and learning. Each topic has been processed by individuals joined in a group with different experiences and subject-expertise. Thus, the topic has been the point of contact for different perspectives. We have also used a variety of digital tools, more or less new to the group members.

ONL has pedagogically inspired me. I have learned new tools to implement in online/digital teaching, and have been afforded the opportunity to change perspectives, from teacher to student. This perspective change is significant for an individual professional development. Teaching design is dependent on an understanding of the teacher role and the student role. Also, I have developed a better understanding of the concept of ‘presence’ through the Communities of Inquiry framework, CoI, and its involvement in teaching.

I am positive concerning the use of technology to enhance teaching and learning in my own contexts. Professionally, I have already implemented technology in a module, which is shown by student evaluations to be highly appreciated. Professionally and privately, I already use technology for the purpose of communicating with family, friends, and colleagues. However, there is a need to stay informed with technological development. The advancement of technology is rapid, and education needs to follow this advancement, for teaching to be relevant and meaningful for the students. Undoubtedly, learning is a dynamic, transformative, and constant process.

As a result of my involvement in ONL, I will present tools for digital/online teaching for my colleagues. This will hopefully inspire them to implement new tools in their modules and motivate discussions for pedagogical development. Discussions are key for the development of eLearning in the teaching context.

References:

Christidis, M. (2020). Integrated teaching for expanded vocational knowing [Doctoral thesis]. Department of Education, Stockholm University, Sweden.

Link to download my thesis: https://su.diva-portal.org/smash/record.jsf?dswid=-2829&pid=diva2%3A1407537&c=1&searchType=SIMPLE&language=sv&query=christidis&af=%5B%5D&aq=%5B%5B%5D%5D&aq2=%5B%5B%5D%5D&aqe=%5B%5D&noOfRows=50&sortOrder=author_sort_asc&sortOrder2=title_sort_asc&onlyFullText=false&sf=all

9 reaktioner till “Topic 5: Lessons learnt – future practice

  1. Great to hear your positive comments and how the course has influenced your ideas about teaching and learning. It is indeed very valuable to be reminded of what it feels like to be a student and face feelings of confusion and overload as well as the joys of belonging to a group, sharing ideas and being inspired by others. maybe you could add the link to your thesis to make it easier to access than having to search 🙂

    Gilla

  2. Hi Maria,
    Nice to read about your knowledge about PBL both as a student years ago as well as a student in this PBL-environment. I didn’t know your dissertation was on integrated teaching! Nice! Then you have so many more perspectives than us concerning the PBL-method (and other).
    It has been nice having you in my PBL-group. I believe we have encouraged each other every now and then during our group meetings, haven’t we? 🙂 I hope to keep you in my personal network even in the future!
    /Inger

    Gillad av 1 person

    1. Hi Inger,
      Indeed, I have learned a lot by our group work in the ONL-course, and really enjoyed our reflections and discussions. I also hope that we can stay in touch!

      Best regards,
      Maria

      Gilla

Lämna en kommentar

Designa en webbplats som denna med WordPress.com
Kom igång